Cindy’s Fashion World

Here we have “Cindy’s Fashion World”, considered by many to be the most rare standard PAL title for the Playstation.

I was lucky and paid about £1 for a mint copy. However, when I tested it on both a SCPH-9002 and a SCPH-7002 machine, it was very buggy. The intro played just fine, sound and picture was totally perfect. But when I got to the main menu, the screen went black. I was able to push buttons and move around with the D-pad and some sounds were heard. Somtimes glimpses of pictures and frames were visible as well.

Despite the mint condition, I thought the disc was damaged in some way and started to look for another copy. I finally found one and had to pay about £30 this time…

Imagine my suprise when that copy had the exact same issue! I was very confused and picked up my SCPH-5502 unit to try it there instead. Here, one of the games could not even get past the Playstation start up intro in the first few tries. When it finally did, it worked perfectly and so did the other copy. I then tried the games on a Playstation 2 console and they both worked flawlessly..

Very strange problem. I have never experienced this with any other Playstation game.

So now you might wonder: “After going through all this trouble, is the game any good?” The answer to that question is hidden in the fact that this is a low budget title from Phoenix…

Leave a Reply

